New York Public Library Digital Library Collections

[Home] [Book] [Expand] [Collapse] [Help]

Clear Search Expand Search

     Wagner: TANNHÄUSER   [Includes RealAudio Selections]      Table of Contents     				  				   Band 4 
				    [RealAudio available]

The Mapleson Cylinders - Program Notes

- Libretti
- Wagner: TANNHÄUSER [Includes RealAudio Selections]
- Band 3

Band 3

Act I: Shepherd Boy scene excerpt: "[Am hohen Fest der Gnad' und Huld in] Demut sühn' ich meine Schuld" ... "Der Wallfahrt wolle gün[stig] sein"

Carrie Bridewell (ms), Shepherd

Emil Gerhäuser (t), Tannhäuser

Metropolitan Opera Chorus & Orchestra--Alfred


January 17, 1903

[Glackens 47; speed matches Band 4.]

At Tannhäuser's invocation of the Virgin Mary, the Venusberg has magically vanished, and he finds himself in a valley near the Wartburg, where a shepherd is piping and singing as pilgrims pass by. (Partway through this cylinder, Mapleson seems to have been fooling around with his apparatus, and the connection between his horn and diaphragm evidently became loose, resulting in a sharp loss of level, which, however, returns towards the end.)



[A Roma nel solenne] dì
io vo'implorare il tuo perdon!
Beato l'uom' che ognor gioì
di questo eterno eccelso don!

Glück auf! Glück auf nach Rom!
Betet fur meine arme Seele!

Allmächt'ger, dir sei Preis!
Gross [ dropout begins→ ] sind die Wunder deine Gnade!

Eterno, eccelso Crea[ ←dropout ends ]tor,
ricorre a te lo spirto anel;
sei speme tu del peccator,
deh! volgi un guardo a noi [dal ciel.]



In Rome on the holy day
I wish to implore Thy pardon!
Blessed the man who always enjoys
this eternal sublime gift!

Godspeed! Godspeed to Rome!
Pray for my poor soul!

Almighty, praise be Thine!
Great are the wonders of Thy grace!

[Begin Page 54]

Eternal, sublime Creator,
the panting spirit returns to Thee;
Thou art the hope of the sinner,
pray, turn Thy glance on us from heaven.

     Wagner: TANNHÄUSER   [Includes RealAudio Selections]      Table of Contents     				  				   Band 4 
				    [RealAudio available]